Mildenhall will surely sorely test the Eastbourne Forman IT Eagles’ resolve tonight (June 23) at Arlington Stadium.

It is tapes up at 7.30m on this National Trophy battle.

The Fen Tigers have already secured a place in the final of the competition but Eastbourne are determined to put a marker down when it comes to fighting for the big prize - the National League title.

There are some key battles in prospect.

Battleground one will; be the heatleaders

Mildenhall have former Eagles Danny Halsey and Josh Bailey in key roles along with Danny Ayres who always puts on a show.

Georgie Wood, Tom Brennan and captain Mark Baseby will need to be at their sharpest to contain that trio.

Battleground two will be the No 4 slot. The visitors’ Ryan Kinsley is having a remarkable season but then so is our Charley Powell, although not attracting so much publicity.

Charley is sharp from the gate is remarkably difficult to overtake at times.

And then we come to Drew Kemp, who is still at reserve for Mildenhall because of the Suffolk club’s lack of league matches.

Kemp guested for the Eagles last year with great effect and has cut loose this year with huge scores wherever he goes.

This will be battleground three.

Our reserves will have to ride out of their skins to defeat Kemp, so it all may come down to how our top five deal with him when he comes up against them.

A ding-dong struggle is in prospect. The result could go all the way to the wire.

Teams (in alphabetical order)

Eastbourne: Mark Baseby, Tom Brennan, Charlie Brooks, Kelsey Dugard, Jason Edwards, Charley Powell, Georgie Wood.

Mildenhall: Danny Ayres, Josh Bailey, Sam Beebee, Danny Halsey, Drew Kemp, Ryan Kinsley, Matt Marson.

Paul Watson