Some of the cream of Britain’s young speedway riders will be at Eastbourne’s Arlington Stadium on Saturday (April 7) to contest the British Under-21 Championship semi-final.

Racing is set to be close and unpredictable as the 16 riders battle for the seven places to go through to the Under-21 British Final at Birmingham.

Neil Vatcher, Speedway Control Bureau Co-ordinator, said” “It is bound to be an exciting evening, which will be tight and tense.

'Exciting time'

“In previous years we have had only enough riders to do one semi-final but the proven quality is coming through in this country and we can stage two strong semi-finals.

“It is an exciting time to be part of British Speedway.”

Three riders who are racing in the Premiership (the top division) will be taking part – Zach Wajknecht, James Shanes and Max Clegg.


They will be joined by a number of second tier riders from the Championship and the blazing young guns of the National League, including Eastbourne’s own Tom Brennan and new signings Jason Edwards and Charlie Brooks.

The field includes a number of riders who started off as schoolboys and won British youth championship titles, including Wajknecht, Brennan, Clegg, Luke Harris (a former Eagle),  Lewis Whitmore  and the current British Youth 500cc Champion, Drew Kemp.

Great honour

Eastbourne Speedway club chairman, Martin Dugard, said the club was delighted to be hosting such a prestigious event at Arlington.

“It’s a great honour for us as a National League club to be awarded such an event.

“Our supporters are good judges of young speedway riders and I am sure they will delight in seeing this shoot-out. It’s not to be missed.


EASTBOURNE (April 7): 1 Max Clegg, 2 Luke Ruddick, 3 Drew Kemp, 4 Tom Brennan, 5 Lewis Whitmore, 6 Jamie Halder, 7 Sam Bebee, 8 Connor Mountain, 9 Josh Bailey, 10 James Shanes, 11 Luke Harris, 12 Ryan Kinsley, 13 Jordan Jenkins, 14 Jason Edwards, 15 Charlie Brooks, 16 Zach Wajtknecht. Reserves: 17 Matt Marson, 18 Macauley Leek.

*Eastbourne Forman IT Eagle Kelsey Dugard rides in the other semi-final at Newcastle on Sunday (April 8).

*Robert Lambert and Dan Bewley have been seeded direct to the final.